Letters on the Wall

The first time I saw a word on that wall
Was when the plague came along
We all hid in our houses so we would be safe
But someone went out to write four letters
And all he wrote was “LIVE”

The second time I saw a word on that wall
Was when the army took over
We were told that they would protect us
But someone went out to erase a letter
And all that was left was “LIE”

The third time I saw a word on that wall
Was when I was getting ready to start anew
I was told to follow in someone’s footsteps to be safe
But someone went out to erase all but one letter
And all that was left was “I”

Today that wall was taken down
It stood in the way of the construction of a building
I was told that I would be taken care of inside
But someone went out to write four letters on the ground
And all he wrote was “LIVE”

Leave a Reply

