Mom

I’m five
Dad says I should go play with my dolls
Brother is sobbing on the couch
Dad has this look on his face like he’s going to cry
I hug him
Maybe he’ll stop crying now
What time will Mom come home?

I’m seven
Dad holds me up and swings me around
Brother is holding my birthday cake
Dad tells me to make a wish loudly
I wish for Mom to come back soon
Maybe now she’ll hear it
Why is everyone crying?

I’m ten
Dad tells me to smile a little more
Brother stands beside me with his graduation certificate
Dad tells me to stand still and stop talking
I ask about Mom and whether she’s going to take a picture too
Maybe she’ll come soon
Why is everyone so quiet?

I’m twelve
Dad is sitting at the table drinking beer
Brother is yelling at his phone again
Dad keeps looking outside the window
I don’t dare to ask anymore
Maybe Mom doesn’t like me anymore
Why doesn’t she like me?

I’m eighteen
Dad tells me to have a blast
Brother tells John to keep an eye out on me
Dad slaps John on the back and gives him a big smile
I come out the door with Mom’s myrtle green dress
Maybe I will enjoy this
Why does Dad look so flabbergasted?

I’m twenty five
Dad is preparing to send me down the aisle
Brother is yelling at the waiters to get ready
Dad opens the door to receive me
I have Mom’s wedding dress
Maybe Mom’s enjoying this from heaven too
Why is everyone crying?

2 thoughts on “Mom

  1. That is beautifully sad, understanding a loss can merely seem impossible, I truly praise your bond as a family having experienced such a tragic flight, to the best extent.

    • Ah, this is a fictitious poem written in a perspective of a girl. However I’m glad that you are able to identify with the poem and feel sorry for me. Do read the other poems and haikus on this blog!

Leave a Reply

